Conditions to receive a gift from the heart…!

Christmas just left us for another year. Many of the gifts received were unwelcomed as people don’t know how to use them, nor what the gift is for.

Whichever way, “unwelcome gifting” until the end of this year where I will receive socks for males when I am “very woman and feminine” or, a set of paintings nicely framed when I don’t have walls to hang them up as the only wall in my room supports the wardrobe and on the other wall, the glass door, which it cannot be drilled to cater for the nail to hold the frame, let’s add to the long list, chocolates and cakes to feed the diabetes’ chart. WotABumaa…!

The purpose of the gift is to free the gifter’s conscience, who’s been told many times that “gifts are not needed and not welcomed” at this stage of our lives. But… do they listen? Naaah! We just have to smile and donate the gift to the St Vinnie’s bin as customary.
But… 🙂

The Light

(Pix sourced:)
The other day I faced another type of conditions to welcome a gift.
A friend, who was in hospital critically ill, was surrounded by her siblings who were older than the patient. One of them is the matriarch.

For a while, I was left on my own with the sleeping patient (my friend).
Everybody knows well that I don’t practice ‘religion’ also, they all know well I am a God’s person who meditates daily and more during these stressful times when an old friend is struggling to remain within the dearly beloved grounds.
By the time the siblings returned to the room, I told the older what the nurse came to do to make the patient comfortable and I mentioned that I also had plenty of time to “pray”, wrong choice of words as I should had said that, I meditated” while I was alone with the patient. The eldest sibling immediately asked if my “prayers”; “were not in another religion, were they?” I replied, no.

But her reaction to my “praying” knowing well that I do not practice religion, let me ill at ease because, my asking God to look after my friend was an unconditional gift to my friend and whether it is in the patient’s religion or different creed, it was a “gift” and should not be measured to make sure it’s worth to be accepted or rejected.

It would have been funny if the sister rejected my “prayers” as frankly, there is no way to retrieve them. This was very depressing.

If I have to “pray” again I will make sure not to share my thoughts, it’s very difficult to be with indoctrinated people. Forgiveness is the best way to deal in these situations.

My friend the patient is holding to dear life, debating whether to stay among the dearly beloved or to move onto her next life. As long she doesn’t suffer, I welcome whatever she chooses to do.

My Unconditional Love goes to my friend I am sure she welcomes my “prayers”.–JEG